Five SEO data tools document an official MCP connector for Claude as of October 13, 2026: Semrush, Ahrefs, SE Ranking, SISTRIX and DataForSEO. The right one depends on the plan you already pay for and how you want usage billed. Semrush includes 50,000 MCP API units on four plans, Ahrefs and SE Ranking draw on API units or credits, SISTRIX says MCP requests don’t consume API credits, and DataForSEO bills per request from a prepaid balance.
If you use Claude or Claude Code and want live keyword, backlink and ranking data inside it instead of pasting screenshots and CSV exports into a chat, three questions decide it. Does the vendor have an official connector? Which plan includes it? How is usage billed? This guide to the best SEO tools for Claude answers them for each option, using each vendor’s own documentation.
The connector mechanism is MCP, the Model Context Protocol. SISTRIX describes it as an open standard that lets AI assistants access external data sources directly. That’s all the theory you need here.
Here is the method. We read each vendor’s official documentation and pricing page on October 13, 2026. We didn’t pay for or test these tools, apart from our own attempt to use Semrush’s connector in Claude, which returned an error saying our account didn’t have enough API units. Every other tool fact below is a vendor statement, and we found no independent evidence for any of them. Prices carry their date and billing terms, and you should confirm the amount and currency shown for your region before budgeting. Where a page doesn’t say something, we write “not stated,” which means the cited page is silent, not that the feature is absent. There are no scores, no overall winner, and no claim that any tool improves rankings.
One disclosure: Contentosapp Studio is our own product, and it is not an SEO data connector. It’s in the comparison because it covers the step after research. We left out Claude SEO skills and prompt packs, which our Claude SEO guide covers, and we left out tools that track brand visibility inside Claude’s answers. Whether you run a solo blog, an agency or an in-house team, the answer depends less on a leaderboard than on the plan you already hold and how you want usage billed.
Which SEO Tool for Claude Fits Your Job
Start with the job, not the logo. The six options split into four jobs, and only the first two involve live third-party data through MCP.
Quick decision guide · October 2026
Start with your SEO task.
Four different jobs. Choose the path you need, then check plan eligibility and billing.
Not a ranking. Vendor documentation reviewed October 13, 2026. Verify current plans, usage limits and permissions before connecting.
Keyword and competitor data inside Claude
Semrush, Ahrefs, SE Ranking and SISTRIX each document an official MCP connector to their own data. If you already pay for one of these suites, this is your job, and the plan lines in the matrix below decide whether you can use it.
Pay-per-request data for Claude Code automation
DataForSEO sells SEO data APIs with no subscription and documents an official MCP server. It fits when your pulls are occasional or scripted and you’d rather fund a balance than a monthly plan.
Your own Search Console data
A search on October 13, 2026 found no official Google MCP server for Search Console, only community-built servers, and none of the five data vendors lists Search Console among the data its MCP exposes. The free route is exporting Pages and Queries from Search Console and uploading the files to Claude or Claude Code. That’s how we run our own audits, as our Claude SEO guide shows.
Turning research into WordPress drafts
Contentosapp Studio, our own product, covers the step after research: it drafts articles and sends them to WordPress. It consumes research you bring from somewhere else.
Brand-visibility tracking inside Claude’s answers is a separate job. For that, see our Best AEO Tools comparison.
One platform limit shapes your plan. Anthropic states that custom connectors using remote MCP are available on Free, Pro, Max, Team and Enterprise plans, and that Free users are limited to one custom connector. The page doesn’t say how that limit treats a vendor’s own connector listing, so check before you count on connecting two suites on a Free account.
SEO Tools for Claude Compared: Decision Matrix
Every cell below traces to an official page: Semrush’s MCP article and developer docs and pricing page, Ahrefs’ MCP docs and pricing page, SE Ranking’s MCP docs and subscription page, SISTRIX’s MCP page and prices, DataForSEO’s pricing page, and the plugin’s WordPress.org listing. The first table covers connection, plans, metering, price and access. The second covers data, setup, permissions and fit.
| SEO tool | Connection | Plans with MCP | Usage & billing | Entry price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Semrush MCP
SEO data connector
|
Remote MCP
OAuth or API key.
Claude and Claude Code.
|
Semrush One Starter / Pro+
Also SEO Classic Pro / Guru.
Each includes 50,000 MCP API units.
Higher tiers offer additional
unit packages.
|
MCP API units
Usage varies by report type and
data volume. Included units refresh
on subscription renewal.
|
$199/mo
Starter, billed monthly.
$165.17/mo with annual billing.
|
|
Ahrefs MCP
SEO data connector
|
Hosted MCP
OAuth or dedicated MCP key.
Claude and Claude Code.
|
Lite or higher
MCP access listed on Lite,
Standard and Advanced.
|
API units
MCP calls draw from the plan’s
API allowance. Key limits
may also apply.
|
$129/mo
Lite plan.
Annual billing saves up to 17%.
|
|
SE Ranking MCP
SEO data connector
|
Remote MCP
One-click Claude connection.
OAuth or API key.
|
Core / Growth
Core lists 25K API credits;
Growth lists 100K.
Both include MCP access.
|
API credits listed
Credits appear alongside MCP access.
Per-call MCP usage is not stated
in the cited pages.
|
$129/mo
Core, billed monthly.
$103.20/mo with annual billing.
|
|
SISTRIX MCP
SEO data connector
|
Official MCP
OAuth on any account.
API key option from Plus.
|
Any SISTRIX account
According to SISTRIX.
Trial access is not specified.
|
No API-credit draw
SISTRIX states MCP requests
do not consume API credits.
Account limits still apply.
|
€119/mo
Start plan, plus taxes.
Monthly cancellation.
|
|
DataForSEO MCP
SEO data API
|
Local or remote MCP
API credentials locally
or OAuth remotely.
|
No subscription
Pay-as-you-go access
through a prepaid balance.
|
Pay per request
Charges come from prepaid funds.
Daily spending limits available.
|
$50 top-up
Minimum deposit, not a monthly fee.
$1 trial credit.
|
|
Contentosapp Studio
Publishing workflow
|
WordPress plugin
Uses your own AI provider key
or ContentOS Auto.
Not an MCP connector.
|
Not applicable
Creates WordPress content
from research you provide.
|
Provider usage or articles
Your AI provider bills your key.
ContentOS Auto uses monthly
article allowances.
|
$0 plugin fee
With your own AI key.
Auto: 3 free articles,
then $9/mo Starter.
|
Vendor documentation and prices reviewed October 13, 2026. Prices use different billing terms and currencies. This is not a performance ranking. For setup commands, permissions, limitations and full pricing details, see each provider’s section below.

Data, setup & permissions
What each tool exposes, how to connect it, and what to verify before granting access.
| Tool & best fit | Data available through MCP | Setup | Security & permissions |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semrush MCP SEO teams, marketing leaders and agencies, per Semrush. | Keyword, ranking & competitor data Search volume, keyword difficulty, positions, SERP features, organic and paid search data. Also competitor data, referring domains and anchor text. | OAuth or API key OAuth is the default authentication method. An API key is also supported. Official setup guides cover Claude and Claude Code. | Read-only Projects API methods Semrush documents read-only access to Projects API methods through MCP. Vendor warning: AI responses may be incomplete or inaccurate. |
| Ahrefs MCP Existing Ahrefs users on Lite or higher. | Ahrefs data for AI agents The vendor describes access to real Ahrefs data through MCP. Exact datasets were not specified on the documentation pages reviewed. |
Hosted MCP connection
Guides cover Claude Web/Desktop,
Mobile and Claude Code.
Claude Code:
claude mcp add,
then /mcp
and sign in.
|
Dedicated MCP-scoped key An authorization screen requests consent before a dedicated API key is created. OAuth keys default to 200,000 units/month per key, adjustable by workspace administrators. Plan allowances still apply. |
| SE Ranking MCP Existing Core or Growth subscribers. | Multiple API families Data API: keyword research, backlinks, domain analysis and SERP data. Project API, Local Marketing API and SE Visible API. Availability depends on the plan. Not every endpoint is exposed through MCP. | One-click Claude connection Claude Code supports OAuth or API key authentication. Sub-accounts need an API key provided by their administrator. | Account-level permissions The MCP connection uses the access granted to the account. Restricted or read-only API keys are not yet available, according to SE Ranking. |
| SISTRIX MCP SISTRIX account holders, including lower-tier plans. | Vendor-listed use cases Onsite and content audits, content gap analysis, initial SEO analysis and keyword strategy. Prompt research and GEO analysis are also listed as use cases. These are documented use cases, not a verified endpoint inventory. | Official setup guide SISTRIX provides a step-by-step connection guide. Claude Code-specific steps were not stated on the page reviewed. | OAuth on any account API key authentication is available from Plus. Further permission details were not specified on the reviewed page. |
| DataForSEO MCP Occasional or automated data pulls without a monthly subscription. | SEO data API families The vendor lists multiple SEO API families on its pricing page. Which datasets are exposed through MCP was not stated in the pricing documentation reviewed. |
Local or remote MCP
Local installation:
npx dataforseo-mcp-server
Alternatively, connect to
the remote MCP server
using OAuth.
|
API-specific credentials Local setup requires the API login and password, not the dashboard login. Daily spending limits can be configured account-wide or per API. |
| Contentosapp Studio WordPress publishers who already have research to turn into content. | Not an SEO data connector Contentosapp Studio does not expose SEO datasets through MCP. It uses research, reference links and editorial instructions supplied by the user. | WordPress plugin Install the plugin and configure your own supported AI provider key. No MCP connection required. | Provider-based requests Requests go from your WordPress site to your configured AI provider. Articles are saved as WordPress drafts by default. |
Based on vendor documentation reviewed October 13, 2026. “Not stated” means the reviewed sources did not specify the detail, not that the capability is unavailable. Best-fit descriptions are editorial interpretations unless explicitly attributed to a vendor.
Every cell is a vendor statement as of October 13, 2026, apart from the “our reading” labels in the last column. “Not stated” means the cited page doesn’t state it, not that the feature is absent.
Each SEO Tool for Claude in Detail
1. Semrush: 50,000 MCP API units on four plans
Semrush states that its MCP links assistants, including Claude and Claude Code, to live data with no CSV exports. It lists search volume, keyword difficulty, ranking positions, SERP features, organic and paid data, competitor data, referring domains and anchor text. SEO data needs Semrush One Starter, Semrush One Pro+, SEO Classic Pro or SEO Classic Guru, each with 50,000 MCP API units that refresh on the renewal date.
- Setup: Semrush’s developer documentation gives the endpoint as
https://mcp.semrush.com/v2/mcp, with OAuth as the default sign-in and an API key as the alternative. In Claude Code, the documented command isclaude mcp add semrush https://mcp.semrush.com/v2/mcp -t http, then/mcpto authenticate. Some third-party guides still show an older v1 address, so use the one in Semrush’s docs. - Price: the pricing page lists Starter (SEO + AI Search) at $199 billed monthly or $165.17 a month billed annually, and Pro+ at $299 monthly or $248.17 a month annually. “MCP access” appears under Starter, and these are the Semrush One plans named in the MCP article. A separate plan called “SEO” ($139 billed monthly or $117.33 a month billed annually) doesn’t list MCP access, so confirm your plan includes MCP units before you buy.
- Warning from Semrush: “AI responses may be incomplete or inaccurate, so always verify them before using for decisions, publication, or other critical tasks.”
- Our experience: on our own account, the connector in Claude returned an error saying there weren’t enough API units, so the numbers for our keyword research came from Semrush screenshots instead. Each request draws units by report type and amount of data, so check your balance before a long session.

2. Ahrefs: hosted MCP from the Lite plan
Ahrefs documents a hosted MCP server for users on a Lite plan or higher, with setup guides for Claude Web and Desktop, Claude Mobile and Claude Code. In Claude Code, the documented command is claude mcp add ahrefs https://api.ahrefs.com/mcp/mcp -t http, then /mcp and sign in. Connecting shows an authorization consent screen and creates a dedicated MCP-scoped API key.
- Metering: every plan includes a limited monthly allowance of API units, and an MCP call draws on it the same way as direct API use. Keys created through OAuth default to 200,000 API units a month per key, which workspace admins can change or remove. Manually created keys have no per-key limit by default, and workspace plan limits still apply.
- Price: the pricing page shows Lite at $129 a month, Standard $249, Advanced $449 and Enterprise $1,499, with “API and MCP access” on Lite, Standard and Advanced. Paying annually saves up to 17%.
- Gaps: read/write scope, the monthly units included per plan, the rows-per-request figure and the exact datasets exposed are not stated on the pages we read. Ahrefs points to its API documentation for how units are calculated per call.
3. SE Ranking: one-click connector on core and growth
SE Ranking describes a centrally hosted remote MCP server at https://api.seranking.com/mcp that connects in one click in Claude or ChatGPT. You sign in with your SE Ranking account or use an API key from the API Dashboard. In Claude Desktop you can also find it under Customize > Connectors. For Claude Code it lists two options, OAuth or API key; the OAuth route is claude mcp add --transport http se-ranking https://api.seranking.com/mcp, then /mcp to sign in.
- Scope: the data and tools depend on your subscription, and not every API endpoint is available through MCP. The vendor lists keyword research, backlinks, domain analysis and SERP, plus projects, rank tracking, audits, local marketing and AI visibility data.
- Plans and price: the subscription page shows core with “25K API credits & MCP access” at $129 a month or $103.20 a month billed annually, and growth with “100K API credits & MCP access” at $279 a month or $223.20 a month annually. Annual billing saves 20%, and a 14-day free trial needs no credit card.
- Limits: “Restricted or read-only API keys aren’t available yet.” On a shared workspace, API access lives with the master account. A sub-account must get an API key from its administrator and choose “Enter API keys manually.”
- Gaps: whether MCP calls draw on the 25K or 100K credits, and how many credits a typical call uses, are not stated.
4. SISTRIX: MCP requests don’t use API credits
SISTRIX says its MCP server connects Claude or ChatGPT to SISTRIX data in real time, with no manual exports. Two statements stand out: “MCP requests do not consume API credits,” and the server runs on its own infrastructure, independent of your credit quota. The OAuth connection works with any SISTRIX account regardless of plan, and an API key option is available from the Plus plan.
- Vendor tip: start a prompt with “Use the SISTRIX MCP Server” so the chatbot uses SISTRIX data instead of searching the web.
- Scope: the page lists onsite audit, content audit, content gap analysis, initial SEO analysis and automatic keyword strategy as use cases. Prompt Research, AI Check and Prompt Tracking are included in all packages and usable through MCP. That touches AI-visibility data, which this article doesn’t assess as a tracking job.
- Price: SISTRIX lists Start at €119 a month plus taxes, Plus €239 and Professional €419, all cancelable monthly and free to test.
- Gaps: the page, last modified August 25, 2026, says SISTRIX currently works with Claude and ChatGPT. It doesn’t state Claude Code setup steps, read/write scope, or whether a trial account can use MCP.
5. DataForSEO: pay as you go, no subscription
DataForSEO’s pricing page describes pay-as-you-go billing with no subscriptions, a $50 minimum top-up and a balance that never expires. New accounts get a $1 trial credit usable in the Playground, via MCP in your preferred AI tool, or through integrations. Daily spending limits can be set for the whole account or for individual APIs.
- Setup: DataForSEO’s official MCP guide covers Claude Desktop and Claude Code. The server can run locally with
npx dataforseo-mcp-serverusing your API login and password, not your dashboard login, or you can use the remote server athttps://mcp.dataforseo.com/mcpwith no local install, and DataForSEO documents an OAuth connection for it. - Pricing detail: the page says detailed endpoint pricing lives on separate pages per API family, so we don’t reproduce per-endpoint rates here. Check those pages for the APIs you’d call.
- Gaps: the pricing page doesn’t say whether MCP calls bill at the same rates as direct API calls, which APIs the MCP server exposes, or what a typical audit costs. Read/write scope is not stated.
6. Contentosapp Studio: WordPress drafts, not a data connector (our product)
Disclosure first: this is our product, and it is not an SEO data connector and not an MCP connector. Its WordPress.org listing describes a plugin that runs a seven-agent pipeline (Discoverer, Strategist, Researcher, Writer, Editorial Reviewer, Visual Designer, Social Media) inside your WordPress dashboard. It runs on your own Anthropic (Claude), OpenAI or Google Gemini key with no plugin fee, and your provider bills the usage. The listing also names English, Spanish and Brazilian Portuguese.
- Managed option: ContentOS Auto gives 3 free articles, then Starter at $9 a month for 5 articles, Pro at $49 for 30 and Studio at $129 for 100. Annual billing gives 2 months free.
- Access: each article goes to WordPress as a draft (the default), scheduled or published. The plugin reads reference links you supply as grounding material, so research you pulled through the connectors above can feed it.
- Limits: the listing says it doesn’t guarantee rankings, and human review before publishing is your job. For how we think about that handoff, see our AI SEO agent guide.

What These Tools Don’t Solve Yet
The connectors cover keyword, ranking and backlink data on paper. Four things remain open, and some of them are facts you can’t check from public pages.
No official Google connector for Search Console
We searched on October 13, 2026 and found no official Google MCP server for Search Console, only community-built servers, which we haven’t assessed. None of the five data vendors lists Search Console among the data its MCP exposes either. Until that changes, exports are the dependable route. If you try a community server, apply the permissions check below first, because it would read your site’s search data.
Metering makes heavy audits hard to budget
This is our reading, not a sourced claim. Semrush includes 50,000 MCP API units, Ahrefs OAuth keys default to 200,000 units a month per key inside the plan’s allowance, and SE Ranking lists 25K or 100K API credits. None of the pages we read gives a typical per-audit cost, and Semrush says each request uses units by report type and amount of data. Our own connector attempt stopped on a units error before it returned anything. DataForSEO offers daily spending limits, and SISTRIX says MCP requests don’t consume API credits, so those two are easier to predict on paper.
No read-only keys at SE Ranking
SE Ranking states that restricted or read-only API keys aren’t available yet, so a connection has your account’s access. That matters because Anthropic warns that custom connectors let you connect Claude to services it hasn’t verified, and that once connected, Claude “can access those services and take action in them”. Anthropic advises connecting only to servers you trust and reviewing the permissions they request. Do that before connecting any MCP server, including the five data connectors here.
Accuracy is a vendor warning, not a measurement
Semrush warns that AI responses may be incomplete or inaccurate. We found no independent accuracy testing for any of the six. Data pulled into Claude still needs a human check before it becomes a published claim, which is where helpful content and E-E-A-T are won or lost.
What we could not verify: per-call unit cost for most tools, read/write scope for Ahrefs, SISTRIX and DataForSEO, the exact datasets exposed by Ahrefs and DataForSEO through MCP, and any independent performance evidence.
Recommendations by Use Case
Each line states the criterion and the evidence. None of it is a ranking.
| Use case | Criterion | Evidence | Fit |
|---|---|---|---|
| You already pay for Semrush, Ahrefs, SE Ranking or SISTRIX | No extra vendor | Semrush lists qualifying plans; Ahrefs lists “API and MCP access” from Lite; SE Ranking lists core and growth; SISTRIX says OAuth works on any account | Connect the suite you hold, then confirm your plan’s MCP line |
| MCP use that doesn’t draw on API credits | Metering | SISTRIX states MCP requests do not consume API credits (vendor statement) | SISTRIX |
| Occasional or automated pulls in Claude Code without a subscription | Billing model | No subscription, $50 minimum top-up, balance never expires, daily spending limits; local npx setup |
DataForSEO |
| Your own site’s performance data | Free, first-party data | No official Google MCP server found on October 13, 2026, only community-built ones; our own workflow uploads Search Console exports | Search Console exports (Pages and Queries) uploaded to Claude or Claude Code |
| Research into WordPress drafts on your own Claude key | The drafting step, not data | WordPress.org listing; no plugin fee on your own key | Contentosapp Studio (our product) |
If you’re comparing entry costs, don’t treat them as like for like. Semrush Starter at $199 a month billed monthly, Ahrefs Lite at $129 a month, SE Ranking core at $129 a month and SISTRIX Start at €119 a month plus taxes are different packages with different data and different billing terms. Price alone says little here.
The decision hinges on which plan you already hold and how you want usage billed, not on a leaderboard.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does Semrush work with Claude?
Yes, according to Semrush’s documentation. It describes an official MCP with a v2 endpoint, OAuth by default and 50,000 MCP API units on four listed plans. Check your plan’s MCP units before you build a workflow around it: on our own account, the connector returned an error saying there weren’t enough API units.
Can Claude connect to Ahrefs?
Yes, per Ahrefs’ documentation. The hosted MCP server needs a Lite plan or higher, with setup guides for Claude Desktop and Web, Claude Mobile and Claude Code. MCP calls consume API units from your plan’s monthly allowance, the same as direct API use.
Can Claude access Google Search Console?
Not through an official Google connector. On October 13, 2026 we found only community-built MCP servers for Search Console. The free route is exporting Pages and Queries and uploading the files to Claude or Claude Code, which is how we audit our own site. If you try a community server, review the permissions it requests first.
Do MCP requests cost extra?
It depends on the vendor. Semrush includes 50,000 MCP API units, then sells packages for more. Ahrefs draws on your API units, and SE Ranking lists API credits next to MCP access. SISTRIX says MCP requests don’t consume API credits, and DataForSEO bills per request from a prepaid balance.
Is there a free SEO tool for Claude?
None of the five data connectors is permanently free in the evidence we read. Limited free options exist: a 14-day SE Ranking trial with no credit card, a SISTRIX free test, and a $1 DataForSEO trial credit. The free data source that always works is your own Search Console export, uploaded to Claude. Anthropic says the Claude Free plan allows one custom connector.
What are the best Claude connectors for SEO?
It depends on the job, so there’s no single answer. Suite owners should start with the connector from the suite they already pay for, and the recommendations above map the other jobs to evidence. This list covers six items checked on October 13, 2026, not the whole market.
Your Next Step
Check the MCP line on the plan you hold today. Then connect one tool, run a small query, watch how many units or credits it uses, and review the permissions it requested before you scale up.
Which would you rather budget: a monthly allowance you might exhaust mid-audit, or a prepaid balance with a daily spending cap? Your answer narrows these six faster than any ranking would.
References
External sources
- SISTRIX MCP Servers – Use Cases, Setup and Updates – SISTRIX — https://www.sistrix.com/ask-sistrix/ai-basics/mcp/
- Get started with custom connectors using remote MCP | Claude Help Center — https://support.claude.com/en/articles/11175166-get-started-with-custom-connectors-using-remote-mcp
- Understanding Semrush MCP: Live Semrush Data in AI — https://www.semrush.com/kb/1618-mcp
- Semrush MCP server | Semrush API (developer documentation) — https://developer.semrush.com/api/basics/semrush-mcp/
- SEO & AI Search Plans and Pricing | Semrush — https://www.semrush.com/prices/
- What is Ahrefs MCP | Ahrefs for Developers — https://docs.ahrefs.com/en/mcp/docs/introduction
- Plans & Pricing – Ahrefs — https://ahrefs.com/pricing
- MCP Server – SE Ranking API Documentation — https://seranking.com/api/integrations/mcp/
- Subscription – SE Ranking — https://seranking.com/subscription.html
- SISTRIX Pricing – The Right Package for Every Business — https://www.sistrix.com/prices/
- DataForSEO API v3 Pricing – Transparent Pay-As-You-Go Pricing Model — https://dataforseo.com/pricing
- Setting up the official DataForSEO MCP server: simple guide — https://dataforseo.com/help-center/setting-up-the-official-dataforseo-mcp-server-simple-guide
- Contentosapp Studio – AI Content Writer & SEO (BYOK) – WordPress plugin | WordPress.org — https://wordpress.org/plugins/contentosapp-studio/
Related content
- Claude SEO: How to Use Claude for SEO Audits and Skills (Our Real Workflow) — Contentosapp
- Best AEO Tools in 2026: Choose by What You Actually Need to Measure or Produce — Contentosapp
- AI SEO Agent: What It Actually Does, What It Costs per Article, and Where a Human Must Approve (2026) — Contentosapp

